Reading Library, week 4

I had to spread out on big table in conference room.  I need to look at so many things at once.  A list I found, entitled “Town Forest & New Wells 1930”, has become very useful.  It’s my stake in the ground, a place I can move forward from and return to.  It’s a hand written chart where each row represents a parcel of land, and columns include owner, deed number, acreage, and description.  For some parcels, multiple names are written like this in the description section:  A. Foster – T. Bancroft – Lydia Bancroft – Theron Parker – Frank Parker, which I think indicates transfership via sale or inheritance, hopefully in the order the names are written.

What I call the “1930 list” identifies Town Forest land lots as parcels 1-7 and A-R:

1930 list

I re-designed my spreadsheet:  instead of each row containing data for a lot, each row will now contain all the data for a lot’s transfer or sale.  It seems somehow less aesthetically pleasing to have multiple rows for a single lot, but we many need to search via date or deed number.  Having a single row contain data for each lot would mean having cells with multiple dates and deed numbers; we might need to have all this information separated out.

I’m loving this project, and Rachel has encouraged me to set the Evergreen project aside for now.

Leave a Reply

